Amajuba District Municipality

Amajuba is one of the 11 districts of KwaZulu-Natal province. The seat of Amajuba is Newcastle. The majority of its 468,040 people speak Zulu (2001 Census). The district code is DC25. The Amajuba District is marketed as a battlefields tourism destination. Amajuba is an isiZulu name meaning “a place of doves”. The impis of King Shaka named the area Amajuba in 1825. It is associated with peace and it is a world-renowned name. The area is also the site of a battle in which the Boers defeated the British in 1881.

Contact Amajuba District Municipality on 034 329 7200. Email:, www.      

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top